Forum Index
Jeep Horizons HomeLinksJeep Horizons Tech Write-upsJeep newsLand useContact

Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Jeep Cherokee Overheating

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Grey Mountain

PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 6:17 am    Post subject: Jeep Cherokee Overheating Reply with quote

Newbie here. I have a 1999 Cherokee 4WD 6 cyl with a overheating problem. Not a mechanic, so took it to a garage. They flushed the system and put in a new theromostat. Two days later I blew a radiator hose. Same place replaced both hoses and flushed the system again. Vehicle is still overheating. With the AC on, it will hit about 220. This started about three weeks ago.
What next?

Lonnie
Orangeamc13
Got Rev Limiter?
Got Rev Limiter?

PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a fairly common. I also have a 99. I just wired a switch to control the aux. fan myself. It's wired so that it can still work normally (with the a/c), but when I flip the switch it overrides the a/c to keep the fan on constant. Before installing the switch I would see 220 with the air on. I tried flushing several times and even tried a reduced temp thermostat. The fan would cycle very erratically(on, off, on, off). Since I put in the override it works great, the temp stays at or under 210 (where it should be).
Grey Mountain

PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply. That method is worth a try.
This first happened while we were on vacation in Canada. We've had this Jeep for four or five years, and never had a problem. Any idea why it would all of a sudden start doing this? What about taking the radiator out, having it throughly cleaned, and re-installing it? Forgot what this process is called.