Forum Index
Jeep Horizons HomeLinksJeep Horizons Tech Write-upsJeep newsLand useContact

Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Beginner Advice?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Tim Hallam

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 2:47 pm    Post subject: Beginner Advice? Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm new to this forum and the four wheel drive world. I'm purchasing my first 4X4 tomorrow (December 7, My birthday). The vehicle is a 1988 Cherokee XJ 5 spd 4.0. It has a 4" lift already installed and has 170,000 miles. I am extremely interested in making this vehicle into a capable, off road machine. However, since I'm currently a full time student in high school I am on a budge. If anyone can give me tips or advice for making this Jeep into a capable 4X4 I would really appreciate it. I am a certified welder and have access to metal and machinery.

The first things on my to-do list are to install skid plates and a winch.

What else should I do?

Thanks.

Tim Hallam

P.S. I'm looking for "ok" gas mileage too.
Billy's89XJ

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Tim and Welcome to the board!!

My first rule of thumb Change ALL FLUIDS! Oil, Trans, Transfer case, Axles, etc.

Then check all u-joints and bushing etc. God knows you don't want something so easy to fix to ruin your day on the trail

The MOST important!! Before you buy it find out ALL MODS DONE to it!! Also get brand names, helps incase you need to replace certain things and helps us know what kind of lift, mods, ets you have on the rig. This being said post what you have so we can see what kind of beasty you bought!! Wink

Skids are a great idea to have!!
ThePhantum
Pissed-Off Admin
Pissed-Off Admin

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote