Forum Index
Jeep Horizons HomeLinksJeep Horizons Tech Write-upsJeep newsLand useContact

Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

V6 to V8 Engine Swap

View previous topic :: View next topic  
june

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:51 am    Post subject: V6 to V8 Engine Swap Reply with quote

Hello everyone. I am new to the Jeep scene so please be patient and understand that I am just getting to know my Jeep better. I have had my 1995 Jeep Cherokee Laredo for over 5 years now. It was a family vehicle but we not have an Avalance and the Jeep is just sitting in the drive way because it has a ton of miles on it. Before I go get a newly built long block, I wanted to know if anyone know if someone has ever done a v6 to v8 swap in a 1995 Laredo. I would like to have V8 to tow my motorcycles around and other stuff. I am aware that the 4.0L Straight 6 is a stout motor, but I would like a little more punch. If you guys know of someone who has done this, please let me know. Take care.

June
swamp boy
Cherokee Muderator
Cherokee Muderator

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think someone has done it but I dont remember who...

Its been while and I am not sure where I even saw it..

It cant be that hard.. you will need a new tranny and ECU to go with the new engine ..But I think the wiring should all be the same..

Just plug up .. (But I could be wrong.)

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
ThePhantum
Pissed-Off Admin
Pissed-Off Admin

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote