Forum Index
Jeep Horizons HomeLinksJeep Horizons Tech Write-upsJeep newsLand useContact

Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

xj keeps dying at running temp

View previous topic :: View next topic  
muddin93xj

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 3:54 pm    Post subject: xj keeps dying at running temp Reply with quote

im a newb to the forum so maybe yall can help me out i've got a 93 xj sport and at a recent mudding trip as we were about to leave my jeep just died let it sit for a couple minutes wouldn't start after about an hour or so it starts back up but bucked real bad or died when below about 2,000 rpm well i read around and heard that it could be my CPS so i changed that still died everytime but it only does this when it gets to about running temp or slightly higher can anyone help me out here
Orangeamc13
Got Rev Limiter?
Got Rev Limiter?

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there any moisture under the ditributor cap?
muddin93xj

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no i replaced that before i repaced the cps and i didn't see anything i did the "key trick" and got back 12 27 27 27 27 55 i don't understand how i got the same code back 4 times
kaos

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code 27 means, according to http://jeephorizons.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=2719, "Injector circuit isn't switching when it's told to (TBI)". Not sure precisely what that means, but I would be taking a closer look at the throttle body and it's connections if I were you. I guess it could also mean a malfunction in the ECU, which would be bad news. Let's hope not.