Forum Index
Jeep Horizons HomeLinksJeep Horizons Tech Write-upsJeep newsLand useContact

Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Brake rotor

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
TJ Apex

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 4:32 pm    Post subject: Brake rotor Reply with quote

Does anyone have slotted and or slotted and dimpled brake rotors?

I'm a machinist, and can program a cnc to slot and dimple the rotors on my TJ. or I can just buy them.
I'm just curious if doing this will make my TJ do summer sults braking so hard, or will be worth my time?

02' Apex Edition,
2" BB, 31" BFG AT's
hutchman
Captain Kirk
Captain Kirk

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I may be wrong, but I don't think that simply drilling your rotors will increase your braking force greatly. It will should help with heat reduction and brake fade due to heat, but will not result in a hugely noticeable increase in stopping power.......
DOUBLEDUCE

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:10 pm    Post subject: brake rotors Reply with quote

The purpose for slots, and drilled rotor is to let the gas out, when you step on the petal, and the brake compress, gas is formed between the pads and rotors. buy slotted and drilled rotors don't do it yourself, its a balancing issue. if you can balance them also then do it. and they work great. when you gear your jeep down in 4 low i can hardly stop my jeep. So i put big wilwood 13" rotors and new caliper, slotted and drilled up front with ford explorer 12 " in the rear.

Bill
ehirner

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 6:18 am    Post subject: Re: Brake rotor Reply with quote

TJ Apex wrote:
Does anyone have slotted and or slotted and dimpled brake rotors?