Forum Index
Jeep Horizons HomeLinksJeep Horizons Tech Write-upsJeep newsLand useContact

Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

A little help

View previous topic :: View next topic  
NewJeepGuy

PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 2:16 pm    Post subject: A little help Reply with quote

So as you can see by my name I am new to the Jeep world but not new to the vehicle based community & forums as my summer daily driver is 2001 Miata which also has a close knit helpful community. The Jeep will be my winter and my sons daily driver. The reason for my post is for a litle help. We picked up a 99 TJ 2 weeks ago and love it.It seems to be running great and has been well maintained but I have run into a problem Crying or Very sad . I found part of the answer here but still need some clarification.

The issue is the heater fan, and the what seems to be common problem of high speed only. I was kind of putting it off until after Xmas but today it stopped working altogether. So first stop the internet. Pretty much unanimous "fan resistor" so went and ordered it will be in first thing in the morning. Where I need help and can not seems to find the answer is now that it is not working at all has something else broken because it was left and used with only high speed. I have read about a relay that the high speed is connected to ? Is this the small 1"x1" black relay that is on the right side just below the glove box ? and I have also read

Will548 wrote:
Been there. You need to go to your local electrical supply house and buy a new thermo resistor. I paid less than $2.00. Clip out the old one and solder in the new one. Be sure to have it facing the correct direction.
DO NOT test it outside of the air box. It will burn up in a second, again been there.
Bets of luck.