Forum Index
Jeep Horizons HomeLinksJeep Horizons Tech Write-upsJeep newsLand useContact

Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Gearing down 93 XJ...4:56's or 4:88's?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
JtotheEEPxj

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:20 pm    Post subject: Gearing down 93 XJ...4:56's or 4:88's? Reply with quote

I just picked up a 93 XJ with a 4.5" lift and 32's already on it. It still has the stock D30 and D35 axles. I'm pretty new to these trucks, and dont know much about jeep drivetrain yet.....

I'm going to be hitting the Rubicon Trail and other related trails a couple times a year, other than that, it's my daily driver. I'm trying to decide on a good ratio that's low enough for rock crawling, and am still able to cruise about 60-65 or better on the freeway. Are 4:56's or 4:88's something i can use with the manual tranny? If not, what is?

I've heard bad things about the D35 rear axles being too weak, but I've also had Jeep guys tell me that they hold up alright if you're easy on em, and dont put a true locker in em. Mine's a posi right now and doesnt seem to have a problem in the small rock sections ive already done. What are some of your opinions on the 35 axle??
Ive heard good things about the D30 frt axle...as long as you dont lock em up....and do the manual hub conversion, which is very expensive....

also, Will the D30 and D35 accept a larger 4:56 or 4:88 ring gear?? or do you have to replace the carrier? if you do, where can i get them and what other vehicles can I get them out of?

I'd really appreciate any info , thanks
-1993 XJ, 4.0, 5 spd, 4.5" lift, 32's, Warn bumper, JKS link kit, skid plates, D30 & 8.25 w/ 4:56's & Detroit locker
-1965 Ranchero, new paint & interior, 302, C4, torque thrust II whls