Forum Index
Jeep Horizons HomeLinksJeep Horizons Tech Write-upsJeep newsLand useContact

Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Several questions from a beginner

View previous topic :: View next topic  
B-Tar

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 10:59 am    Post subject: Several questions from a beginner Reply with quote

I just aquired a 2003 Rubicon. It has about 19K miles on it and stock everything. I want to really see what it can handle, because i've seen the pictures of the jeeps where the wheels are all over the place and it looks like the suspensions about to snap in half and it still pulls through.

I'm definately interested in off-roading, but i've never done it before. is there anything I should be aware of, like how much punishment it will handle, how to not roll it, etc? Also, is there anything I should do to it physically?

I don't know a lot about it... not really a car guy, never was, but I want to learn. I know it has Dana 44 differentials, but I don't know what "Dana", "44", or "Differentials" mean. Same goes for mechanical locking hubs; have'em, don't have a clue what they do.

Another thing; does anyone know any good places to go to in or around Tucson to take it for a ride?
Gamgan

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First , welcome to the boards, you came to the right spot

They people here are awesome, they are helpfull and know there stuff.

As for your questions, first read the FAQs they have posted as stickys, you will find alot of good stuff there, including what are your diferentials