Forum Index
Jeep Horizons HomeLinksJeep Horizons Tech Write-upsJeep newsLand useContact

 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Where to route the power cable for amp in 2006 Liberty


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Electronic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jfoster38122
Member


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Location: Memphis, TN

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 9:21 am    Post subject: Where to route the power cable for amp in 2006 Liberty Reply with quote

Getting ready to install my amp and don't see where I can put it through the firewall. I'm new to installing amps and just got my Liberty a week ago. Thanx for the help. I have a friend that works at the dealer and may see if he can get me a deal on them doing it. Also does any one know the specs on the stock radio? I'm trying to decide whether or not to put the aftermarket radio I have in. It's the Alpine 9843

Jerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ehirner
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Location: Eastern PA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The aftermarket head unit will be better than the stock one. More powerful with cleaner sound.

As far as where to run the wire, there will be a grommet somewhere along the firewall. Pull it out, slice an X in it, reinstall, and pass the wire through.

I doubt the dealer does many car audio installs. You may want to try a car audio place...even like a Best Buy or Circuit City would be better than a dealer.
_________________
04 Unlimited
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
jfoster38122
Member


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Location: Memphis, TN

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanx for the reply. Several months ago when I had a truck I went to a local audio shop to have the amp installed and they said that only one channel of the 4 channel amp was working and I brought it back home and hooked it up myself and nothing was wrong with it, so I don't trust or know a good one to use here in Memphis, TN. I was just wondering what the output on the stock radio was to see if my aftermarket HU was better but can't find specs on the stock HU

Jerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jfoster38122
Member


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Location: Memphis, TN

PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I have looked and looked but don't see anywhere that I can put the cable through. I know it's a PITA but can someone snap a quick photo to show me where I am supossed to be looking?

Jerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ehirner
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Location: Eastern PA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I had a KJ....
_________________
04 Unlimited
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Electronic All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Visit links4jeeps.com for write-ups, forums and clubs




Jeep®, Wrangler, Cherokee, Liberty and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler LLC.
jeephorizons.com is not in any way associated with or endorsed by the Chrysler LLC.
All other content is copyright Jeep Horizons 2004-2008.
Tech write-ups Links Discussion board Land use News Site Map Terms of Use

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group