Forum Index
Jeep Horizons HomeLinksJeep Horizons Tech Write-upsJeep newsLand useContact

Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Is this warranty worth it?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
bsebesta

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 6:01 am    Post subject: Is this warranty worth it? Reply with quote

I am buying my first Jeep this week, a 1997 wrangler 4.0L with 69k miles. I will be using this mostly as a daily driver. The credit union offered a 3 year 36k mile warranty from route66warranty. It costs $1100 bucks and has a zero dollar deductible. It covers the engine, transmission, 4 wheel drive, and a couple other little things, but mostly those big three. I know a little about fixing vehicles, but just enough to be dangerous. I'm no expert. Being a 9 year old Jeep with 69K miles should I purchase the warranty anticipating an eventual problem with the engine, transmission, or 4 wheel drive?
Has anyone had any experience with this route66 warranty?
Thanks
ehirner

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you a gambling man?

Me personally, I don't like extended warranties. They are a huge money maker for the businesses that offer them. Think about it...on a case by case basis, they may lose money sometimes. However, as a product overall, they wouldn't offer warranties like this if they weren't making a killing because they aren't doing it to be nice.

I say no.
monkeyman3875

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The big question is... Do you know what kind of condition the jeep is in?